AASHTO Elects New President

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Secretary Mike Hancock has been elected president of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO), a nonprofit, nonpartisan association representing transportation agencies in the 50 states, District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

AASHTO represents all five transportation modes: air, highways, public transportation, rail and water. Its mission is to advocate for transportation-related policies and provide technical support to states in their efforts to efficiently and safely move people and goods. Kentucky was a charter member at AASHTO's founding in 1914.

Secretary Hancock was elected Monday October 21 by the AASHTO Board of Directors at the association's annual meeting in Denver. John Cox, Director of the Wyoming Department of Transportation, was elected vice president. The terms are for one year, Secretary Hancock spent the past year as AASHTO vice president.