Jack Austhof, Sobie Company Inc., to Serve as 2013-14 President of the American Subcontractors Association

The American Subcontractors Association announced the results of its 2013 national election on March 22, 2013, and Jack Austhof, Sobie Company Inc., Dutton, Mich., will take office on July 1, 2013, as 2013-14 president of ASA.

Austhof is president and owner of Sobie Company, an interior finishing company. He joined the firm as a carpenter in 1979 and purchased the firm in 1994. The company works on projects ranging from large residential to multi-million dollar commercial projects. Prior to joining the construction industry, Austhof served in the U.S. Army from 1967 to 1970.

Austhof has long been active in the construction industry in west Michigan. As an officer and director of the Builders Exchange of Grand Rapids and Western Michigan, he focused on membership development, building that association to the third-largest Builders Exchange in the nation. Recognizing the need for subcontractor education and advocacy, Austhof helped establish ASA of West Michigan. He served as president of ASA of Michigan from 2008 to 2010.
As ASA president, Austhof will preside at meetings of ASA’s board of directors, Executive Committee, and the membership of the association. He also will serve as the principal spokesperson for the association and appoint the chairs, vice chairs and members of ASA committees and task forces.

Austhof succeeds 2012-13 ASA President Walter Bazan Jr., Bazan Painting Company, St. Louis, Mo.

Mike Jones, M.L. Jones Acoustics Inc., Tulsa, Okla., will serve as 2013-14 ASA vice president; M. Brian Johnson, Soil Consultants Inc., Charleston, S.C., will serve as 2013-14 ASA treasurer; and Letitia Haley Barker, Haley Greer Inc., Dallas, Texas, will serve as 2013-14 ASA secretary.
ASA members elected five national directors for three-year terms beginning on July 1, 2013: Anthony Brooks, Platinum Drywall, Maumelle, Ark.; Jason File, Les File Drywall Inc., Albuquerque, N.M.; Vince Migliazzo, Mark One Electric Co., Kansas City, Mo.; Russell O’Rourke, O’Rourke & Associates L.P.A., Cleveland, Ohio; and Jeff VanderLaan, Kent Companies Inc., Grand Rapids, Mich.