AASHTO Announces 'Faces of Transportation' Photography & Video Contest

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials has started its 11th annual Faces of Transportation photography contest with new categories, and a video section open to all participants. The national competition gives state DOT employees and private citizens the opportunity to submit photographs and videos of people, projects, and personal experiences that demonstrate the benefits of transportation in America.

This year's competition, themed "The People Who Power Transportation in America," includes seven awards. Five will be presented in the photography section and two prizes will be awarded in the video portion of competition.

Photography: Photographs will be judged in three new transportation-themed categories: "People Building America," "People Touring America," and "Innovators in Transportation." A $125 cash prize will be awarded to the best photograph in each of the three categories. $500 cash prizes will be presented to the winners of both the People's Choice and the Best Overall Photograph award.

Video Section: Videos will be judged on two levels and in two separate categories. Amateur or novice videos must demonstrate travel experiences in a category called Safe, Innovative and/or Fun. Professionally produced videos will be judged in a category called Innovation in Motion.

The videos (one winner in each category), as selected by AASHTO, will each be awarded $150 cash prizes. The winners, along with other submitted videos, may be featured on AASHTO's Transportation TV.

Winning video and photography submissions must prominently feature people designing, constructing, using and enjoying the nation's transportation systems. All entries must represent the positive effects of all modes of transportation on individuals and communities. Photographs and videos which include recognizable individuals must be accompanied with a model release form regardless of category; all photos and videos must include a caption that describes the scene. Failure to meet these requirements may lead to disqualification.

All entries must be received by July 31, 2015. Judging will begin on August 10, 2015. The general public will vote for the People's Choice Award photograph at the Faces of Transportation web site, www.facesoftransportation.org. Judging will begin August 10 and end August 31, 2015.

The winners of the 2015 Faces of Transportation competition will be announced at the AASHTO Subcommittee on Transportation Communications (TransComm) annual meeting in Annapolis, Maryland in September. Entry forms and contest rules are available at www.facesoftransportation.org.