Post-Tensioning Institute Will Honor Awardees at 2012 PTI Convention

PTI convention will be held May 6-8 in Nashville, TN

Fcpposttensioninginstitutelogo 10706400

The Post-Tensioning Institute (PTI) announced the 2012 PTI Fellow Inductees, TAB Award Recipients and Student Scholarship Award Recipients who will be honored during the PTI Awards Presentation at the 2012 PTI Convention, May 6-8, Nashville, TN.

The PTI Fellow award is presented to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the production or use of post-tensioning and who have made significant contributions to PTI committees. In addition, a minimum of 5 years active PTI membership is required to receive this award. The 2012 PTI Fellow inductees are: Bryan Allred, David Goodyear, Norris Hayes, Brian Juedes, Thomas Kang and Felix Sorkin.

The PTI Technical Advisory Board (TAB) presents awards to groups and individuals who have gone beyond the call of duty and provided PTI with time and resources that are out of the ordinary. The James Cagley Medal for Most Active Technical Committee Chair will be presented to Matthew J. Niermann for his outstanding contributions to PTI and the Industry as Chair of Committee DC-35, Prestressed Rock and Soil Anchor Committee. The Russell Price Award for Most Active Committee Member will be presented given to Douglas J. Schlegel for his many contributions to PTI and the Industry as Member and Chair of M-10, Unbonded Tendon Committee.

PTI will present eight outstanding engineering students each with $2,500 academic scholarships. Timothy Briner, University of Maryland, College Park and Elizabeth Ridel, University of Kansas will receive the new PTI AMSYSCO Scholarships. The Edward K. Rice Scholarships will be presented to: Daniel Abramson, University of Minnesota Duluth; Sofia Gavridou, University of California, Los Angeles; and Maria Gibbs, Duke University. The William C. Bailey Memorial Scholarships will be presented to: Jeska Jurasic, Colorado School of Mines; Joseph Lewiston, University of Texas at Arlington; and Grant Schmitts, Iowa State University.

The awards presentation will take place on Tuesday May 8, 2012 from 1:00pm -1:30pm at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel, Nashville, Tenn. The convention includes technical sessions, committee meetings, networking events, an industry trade show with product and a discounted pre-conference certification workshop. Register for the convention online at or onsite at the convention.

Companies in this article