ARTBA Accepting Nominations for Women Leaders in Transportation Design & Construction Awards

Nomination deadline is July 12; awards to be held in Milwaukee this September

Artba Logo 10950167

The American Road & Transportation Builders Association’s (ARTBA) Women Leaders in Transportation Design and Construction (WLTDC) Council is now accepting nominations for its annual awards program, which honors “extraordinary efforts of individuals, companies and public agencies that have demonstrated leadership and dedication to innovation in the transportation construction field as well as the promotion of women leaders within the industry.”

The 2013 awards include three categories:

• The Ethel S. Birchland Lifetime Achievement Award: Named after ARTBA’s executive director from the mid-1920s, it is given to at least one woman who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and long-term service in the industry’s public or private sectors.

• The Glass Hammer Award: Honors at least one company in the transportation construction industry that has innovative programs and activities directed at successfully promoting women leaders within their organization.

• Future Industry Spotlight Award: Recognizes two women students enrolled in undergraduate or graduate studies at a U.S. college or university who have achieved an outstanding academic record and demonstrated extraordinary leadership skills within and outside the academic environment.

ARTBA membership is not required. Nomination forms are available here under the “awards & scholarship” section, and must be received by close of business July 12. Contact ARTBA’s Holly DiGangi with questions.

Winners will be recognized at a special September 9 awards luncheon during ARTBA’s National Convention in Milwaukee, WI.