Council of University Transportation Centers Honors Nine Individuals for Advancing Transportation Research

Three leaders in transportation academia, five students, and one long-time industry advocate were recently honored by the Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) for their outstanding contributions to transportation research and education.

Honorees were recognized during CUTC’s Annual Awards Banquet in Washington, D.C., and awards were presented in these categories:   
The Lifetime Achievement in Transportation Research & Education: Recognizes individuals who have contributed immensely throughout their professional lives to transportation research and education by working in government, business or non-governmental organizations.
Robert Skinner, Jr., executive director, Transportation Research Board in Washington, D.C.  
Distinguished Contribution to University Transportation and Research: Given to individuals who have had a long history of significant and outstanding contribution to university-level transportation education and research.
Dr. Neville Parker, Herbert G. Kayser professor of civil engineering and director of the CUNY Institute for Transportation Systems in New York

CUTC-ARTBA New Faculty Award: Presented to tenure-track educators in recognition of outstanding teaching and research contributions.
Dr. Stephen Boyles, assistant professor, The University of Texas at Austin, Texas 
CUTC-ARTBA Administrative Leadership Award: Honors individuals in a staff or non-tenure-track faculty position who have made outstanding administrative leadership contributions to the field of transportation.
Dr. Karen Philbrick, executive director, Mineta Transportation Institute, San José, California
Milton Pikarsky Award: Presented to two graduate students in the transportation field for the best doctoral dissertation and M.S. thesis with an emphasis on science and technology.
Jack Reilly, University of California, Berkeley
Jeffrey Taylor, University of Utah
Charlie V. Wootan Award: is given annually to two graduate students in the transportation field for the best doctoral dissertation and M.S. thesis with an emphasis on policy and planning.
Dr. Ian Carlton, University of California, Berkeley
Chester Harvey, University of Vermont
Neville A. Parker Award: Recognizes the best non-thesis paper in transportation submitted for the M.S. degree in lieu of a thesis, in the areas of policy & planning.
Deanna Smith, Mineta Transportation Institute, San José, California
Established in 1979 by the major transportation research centers and institutes in the United States, CUTC provides a forum for the universities and learning centers to interact collectively with government and industry. CUTC membership represents over 90 of the nation's leading university-based transportation research and education programs. Collectively, CUTC members have advanced the state-of-the-art in all modes and disciplines of transportation. In doing so, the membership of CUTC has made significant and lasting contributions to the nation's mobility, economy, and defense.  

Additional information can be found at