Transportation Design & Construction Leaders Recognized at 2013 ARTBA National Convention in Milwaukee

ARTBA recognizes transportation design and construction industry leaders with division awards during their national convention

Artba Logo 10950167

The American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) recognized transportation design and construction industry leaders September 9 with division awards during the association’s national convention, held in Milwaukee, Wis.  The association announced the following honorees: 

Nello L. Teer, Jr. Award: Steve Wright, president, Wright Brothers Construction, Charleston, Tenn.  Created in 1988 as a tribute to contractor and Past ARTBA Chairman (1959-61) Nello L. Teer, Jr., it annually honors a contractor member who has made outstanding contributions to the association’s Contractors Division and the transportation construction industry.


Guy Kelcey Award: Dave Gehr, senior vice president and highway market leader, Parsons Brinckerhoff, Herndon, Va.  This award, which honors Guy Kelcey, one of the Planning & Design (P&D) Division’s organizers, is given each year to an ARTBA member who has exhibited a high degree of service to the association’s P&D Division.


Paul F. Phelan Memorial Award: Tom Hill, chief executive officer, Summit Materials, LLC, Denver, Colo.  Established in 1971, it is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the ARTBA Materials and Services Division and the transportation construction industry.


ARTBA also recognized two industry professionals for their service to the traffic safety, and research and education divisions.


John “Jake” Landen Memorial Highway Safety Award: Frederick “Bud” Wright, executive director, American Association of State Highway & Transportation Officials, Washington, D.C., and John Logan, proprietor, JL & Associates, Seattle, Wash.  Established in 1989 in memory of Traffic Safety Industry Division leader and Past ARTBA Chairman (1976) J.C. Landen, this annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to highway safety.


S.S. Steinberg Award: John Collura, professor & associate director, University of Massachusetts Transportation Center, Amherst.  Created in honor of S.S. Steinberg, the founding president of the Research and Education Division, the award recognizes an individual who has made remarkable contributions to transportation education.