Illinois Transportation Agencies Present Contractor of the Year Awards

The Illinois Road and Transportation Builders Association (IRTBA) hosted the 2014 Contractor of the Year Awards last week, the state's largest gathering of transportation design and construction industry professionals.

"The ceremony gives agencies and industry colleagues an opportunity to recognize companies who have achieved particular success in 2014. Award winners have shown adaptability, creativity, cooperation, consideration, economy, and innovation," said John P. Bryan, president of Geneva Construction Company and chairman of IRTBA. 

Five major transportation agencies -- the Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT), the Illinois Tollway, Chicago Department of Transportation (CDOT), Metra, and the Chicago Department of Aviation (CDA) -- along with five county departments of transportation -- recognized companies that have given taxpayers an exceptional return on their investment by exceeding project expectations.    


IDOT named F.H. Paschen, S.N. Nielsen & Associates LLC, of Chicago, winner of the Portland Cement Concrete Pavement Award of Excellence for constructing 2.11 miles of a four-lane divided highway, a diamond interchange, and four new bridges -- all for the Algonquin Bypass, located in McHenry County.

Arrow Road Construction Company, of Mount Prospect, was named winner of IDOT's Hot Mix Asphalt Award to recognize 3.85 miles of milling and resurfacing on Illinois Route 83 from Illinois Route 19 to Illinois Route 72 in Elk Grove Village, Bensenville, and Wood Dale.

IDOT awarded Dunnet Bay Construction Company, of Glendale Heights, the New Bridge Construction Award for constructing the Central Avenue Bridge on Interstate 55 in Forest View. 

James McHugh Construction Company, of Chicago, was awarded IDOT's Bridge Rehabilitation Award of Excellence for bridge rehabilitation on Interstate 94 at the Stony Island Feeder Interchange, including bridge deck replacement and roadway improvements, located in Chicago.

Traffic Control & Protection, Inc., of West Chicago, was given the Work Zone Traffic Control Award of Excellence in recognition of traffic control provided during roadway reconstruction, drainage work, and bridge replacement on Willow Road from Illinois 43 to Interstate 94 in Northfield, Northbrook, Glenview, and Winnetka.

Illinois Tollway 

The Illinois Tollway honored F.H. Paschen, S.N. Nielsen & Associates as their General Contractor of the Year. This award was selected by the Illinois Tollway Engineering Department's Project Managers to recognize the prime contractor demonstrating the traits they most desired: professionalism; adherence to policies and procedures; on-time project delivery; and fairness regarding Change Orders/Extra Work Orders.

Roadway Contractors of the Year were the following Interstate 90 West Mainline Contractors: Curran Contracting Company (Crystal Lake), F.H. Paschen, S.N. Nielsen & Associates (Chicago), Plote Construction Company (Hoffman Estates), R.W. Dunteman Company (Addison), and William Charles Construction (Loves Park).

The Interchange of the Year Award was given to Lorig Construction Company, of Des Plaines, for roadway widening and bridge construction for the Tri-State Tollway / Interstate 57 Interchange project.

Trafic Services, Inc., of Bartlett, won the Tollway's Work Zone Traffic Control Award for their ongoing cooperation, efficiency, and effective performance on a number of projects, including the Jane Addams Memorial Tollway and Tollway maintenance sites. Trafic Services performed without incident, proving they are committed to safety and efficiency.


CDOT's Outstanding Paving Contractor of the Year Award went to Bigane Paving Company, of Chicago, for their work on resurfacing approximately 30 miles of arterial streets at various locations in northern, central, and southern areas of the City of Chicago, with nearly half of the locations being completed in 2014.

Trice Construction Company, of Chicago, was awarded CDOT's Outstanding Minority Contractor of the Year for the Vertical Clearance Improvement project at 79th Street and Leavitt Street. 


Metra honored the following members with Contractor of the Year Awards: Walsh Construction Company, of Chicago, in recognition of construction services for the Union Pacific Railroad and Metra north line bridges, retaining walls, and the Ravenswood Station Project; John Burns Construction Company, of Orland Park, for construction services for the rehabilitation of the Lombard Metra Station; and T.Y. Lin International Group, of Chicago, for engineering design services for the new Rock Island District Commuter Rail Station at Auburn Park in Chicago.

Metra's Subcontractors of the Year were S & J Construction, of Oak Forest, in recognition of structural steel erection and bridge removal/salvation services on the CREATE Project P1 (Englewood Flyover), and construction work near the Englewood interlocking; Rubinos & Mesia Engineers, Inc., of Chicago, for engineering design services and shop drawing review for the Flossmoor Station construction project; and Geo Services, Inc., of Naperville, for material inspection, testing, and environmental services for the Flossmoor Station construction project.


K-Five Construction Corp., of Lemont, was awarded the Chicago Department of Aviation's Contractor of the Year Award for their work at Midway International Airport on the Runway 13-31C rehabilitation, centerline light installation, and EMAS replacement.

Five of the collar counties, including Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, and Will, gave out Contractor of the Year Awards for the best localized projects for the year. 

Additional awards were given to contractors in a number of categories. For a full list of award recipients and featured projects, visit our website at