Indiana Road Builders Recognized with Safety Awards

Brooks Construction: Greg Yoder and Kyle Dunn; Terry Fisher and Eric Felger (not pictured)
Brooks Construction: Greg Yoder and Kyle Dunn; Terry Fisher and Eric Felger (not pictured)

Safe Worker Awards were presented by the Asphalt Pavement Association of Indiana (APAI) at its Annual Awards Luncheon held December 10th at the Marriott East in Indianapolis. Eighteen individuals received a Safe Worker Award during the luncheon sponsored by Tobias Insurance Group. Winners were determined using the following criteria:

  • Training in safety and health
  • Seeking other enhancement of safety training and information
  • Being willing to stop work due to an unsafe condition
  • Being sought out by others for their safety input
  • Being respected by their peers and co-workers
  • Recognizing hazards and conditions that may be or become unsafe
  • Not having had a personal injury within the last calendar year

“The APAI is pleased to recognize all 18 of our individual honorees from the six member firms that support this unique program,” says William Knopf, APAI executive director.  “While most safety programs in the construction industry are company awards, the APAI Safe Worker awards instead focus on the individuals who lead the way by demonstrating their personal commitment to a safe highway construction project for the benefit of their colleagues, their customers and the traveling public.”

Winners include:

  • Brooks Construction: Greg Yoder, Kyle Dunn, Terry Fisher and Eric Felger
  • E & B Paving: Mark Stephens
  • Milestone Contractors LP: James Jackson, Fred Bower, Ed Smith, Chance Huey, and Wes Livingston  
  • Rieth-Riley Construction Co.: Tony Kaser, JR Beaman, Dave Smith, and Robert Bauer
  • Wabash Valley Asphalt: Jack Knight and John Collett
  • Walsh & Kelly: Jackie Goin-Hershman, Jason Minnie, Martha Taratino