NRMCA Names Three Honorary Directors

Thomas Chandler, John Novak and Murray Simpson are recognized for their longtime industry service.

SILVER SPRING, MD - The National Ready Mixed Concrete Association has honored three longtime industry leaders by electing them honorary members of its Board of Directors. The decision to select Thomas Chandler, John Novak and Murray Simpson was made by the Board at last month's NRMCA fall Board meeting held in Scottsdale, AZ.

Chandler, Novak and Simpson have each served as chairman of the Association's Board of Directors, along with participating in numerous NRMCA committees, task forces and industry working groups over the years. Each of them has played key roles in shaping the Association's growth and effectiveness as it has become the leading voice of the ready mixed concrete industry.

"I've had the privilege of working with Tom, John and Murray over the years and each brought his own areas of expertise in helping me in my role as NRMCA president," said Robert Garbini. "Each of them chaired a strong, active Board of Directors that was responsible for moving NRMCA and its member companies forward over the years. I'm delighted that their new titles allow them to continue to be active within the industry."

Chandler, chairman of the Chandler Concrete Company in Burlington, NC, served as NRMCA Board chairman in 1999. Novak was president of Ash Grove Materials Corp. when he served as NRMCA Board chairman in 1998. Simpson served as NRMCA chairman in 1997 when he was a vice president and general counsel of Bardon, Inc., now part of Aggregate Industries.