Hot Mix

NAPSA Celebrates 15th Anniversary

The North American Power Sweeping Association (NAPSA) celebrates its 15th anniversary this year. Prior to being named NAPSA, the contract sweeper organization has operated under a number of different names.

In 1979 the National Contract Sweepers Association (NCSA) had its first meeting in Atlanta at the American Public Works Association (APWA) show. From 1985-1995 the National Solid Waste Management Association (NSWMA) provided general educational and informational support for contract sweepers. In 1995, because of NSWMA funding restrictions, the relationship was terminated.

From 1995-2000 the Contract Sweepers Institute (CSI) operated under the APWA umbrella to address sweeping industry concerns and needs.

In October 2000, NAPSA was chartered in Michigan as the North American Power Sweeping Association and membership has grown to more than 300 companies.

For more information on NAPSA visit


Rose Paving Acquires DuraSeal of Florida

Rose Paving Company, Bridgeview, IL, has acquired DuraSeal of Florida, Tampa. DuraSeal will join Rose Paving as a satellite office, similar to three other Rose Paving locations in Atlanta, Denver and Los Angeles.

“We are excited to continue our expansion,” said Alan Rose, founder and CEO of Rose Paving Company. “Since we launched the national paving model, we’ve continued to investigate regional locations throughout North America which would allow us to better serve our customers.”

Rose said the acquisition is a “natural fit” to help the company work toward its goal of having a true national footprint.

Ed Campbell, president of Rose Paving Company, said Rose Paving is looking forward to DuraSeal joining the Rose family. “Our job is to provide them with additional people and tangible assets to allow them to do their job even better,” Campbell says. “We have a deep-rooted commitment to personal relationship building, outstanding customer service and excellence in quality work.”


2016 Pavement Awards Deadline

Entries and nominations for the 2016 Pavement Awards will be open online beginning in May. Contractors can enter any job completed in 2014 for recognition in one of four categories: Sealcoating & Striping (Small Job), Sealcoating & Striping (Large Job), Paving (Parking Lot), and Paving (Non-parking Lot). Entries are also accepted in the Good Neighbor public service category.

Entries for the awards and nominations for the Contractor of the Year, Sweeping Contractor of the Year, Alan Curtis Industry Service Award and Pavement Hall of Fame will be accepted through October 1.