IAPA Winners Announced

A record audience of more than 450 people celebrated the winners of the third International Awards for Powered Access (IAPAs) on April 14, 2011 in Amsterdam.

A record audience of more than 450 people celebrated the winners of the third International Awards for Powered Access (IAPAs) on April 14, 2011 in Amsterdam.

Paul Adorian, former managing director of IPAF, and Pierre Saubot of the Haulotte Group were the joint winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award. The judges said that Paul Adorian had been crucial in creating IPAF and instrumental in developing what is now a worldwide operator training program. They described Pierre Saubot, a past president of IPAF, as one of the pioneers of the access industry in Europe with an enduring commitment to safety.

Other winners included Facelift Access Hire (Access Rental Company of the Year) and Harsco Infrastructure (Access Project of the Year for the Heron Tower job).

The IPAF Safety Champion Award went to Kevin O'Shea of U.S.-based Mastclimbers (for the second year running), and the Contribution to Safe Working at Height Award was given to UK-based ZT Safety Systems for its innovative safety harness. The Award for Outstanding After Sales Service was won by Independent Parts & Service (IPS).

The three awards open to IPAF members only went to: BS Technology from Singapore (Best Marketing Campaign for IPAF Training), Gurpartap Singh from Dubai of Rapid/Lavendon Group (IPAF Training Instructor of the Year), and Italian company Piattaforme Aeree Formazione (PAF) (Best New IPAF Training Centre).

The four Product of the Year Awards were taken by: MEC Aerial Platforms (for the Titan Boom), Custom Equipment (HB-830 scissor), CTE (B-Lift 20.13 truck mount) and Alimak Hek (for the Scando 650 hoist). The judges also presented a Highly Commended citation to Oil & Steel/HCNL for the Snake 2714 compact in the vehicle mounted category.

The independent judging panel were: Roger Bowden, chairman, Niftylift, UK; Mike Watts, president, Sunstate Equipment, U.S.; Gerhard Hillebrand, IPAF-Italia representative; Steve Shaughnessy, IPAF president; and Murray Pollok, managing editor, Access International.

The IAPAs are jointly organized by Access International and IPAF. The 2011 awards were sponsored by Iron Planet (headline sponsor), gold sponsors: the Alo Group, Genie and Haulotte, and silver sponsor JLG.

The next IAPAs will be held on March 29, 2012 in Rome, Italy. Watch for event details at www.iapasummit.info.

The full list of winners and the citations from the judges were as follows:

Facelift Access Hire, UK (Access Rental Company of the Year)

Of the winner the judges said: "This company showed an exceptional performance in a challenging year. It has produced an acclaimed safety guide and has been consistently innovative with creative and unique marketing reflecting the company's character."

Paul Adorian and Pierre Saubot (Joint Winners - Lifetime Achievement Award)

The judges said Mr Adorian had helped establish the UK as one of the world's

best developed access markets. He was the first person to establish a successful access rental company in the UK, was crucial in the creation of IPAF and led the organisation as MD for many years. He was also pivotal in creating the training programme which is now such an important part of the organisation's activities. "He continues to play an active role in the industry, running one of the best known notified bodies in the UK, PAC."

Mr. Saubot, said the judges, is one of the pioneers of the European access sector, and a past president of IPAF. "He has built one of the major manufacturers in the world - Haulotte - and has worked hard throughout his long career to promote the use of powered access worldwide. He is still very active in the industry and at Haulotte, and remains one of the true leaders of this industry."

Kevin O'Shea, Mastclimbers (IPAF Safety Champion)

The judges said that Mr O'Shea "has maintained a consistent and exceptional performance in promoting safety, has influenced government and safety regulators, and continues to promote mast climbing work platforms internationally."

ZT Safety Systems, UK (Contribution to Safe Working at Height)

The judges said that ZT "has developed a unique product that has the potential to save lives, whose ease of use will encourage people to adopt it, and which improves and reduces the risks associated with conventional models."

Harsco Infrastructure Services - Heron Tower Project, London (Access Project of the Year)

"In a very tightly contested category, we chose the winner for overcoming obstacles and defining standards in taking mast climbing technology to new extremes," said the judges.

MEC Aerial Work Platforms: Titan Boom (Product of the Year - Self Propelled (booms, scissors, atrium lifts)

The judges noted that this company appears to have established a new market category with a platform that offers the deck characteristics of a large double-deck scissor, with the carrying capacity of a telehandler and the characteristics of a telescopic boom.

CTE: B-Lift 20.13 MP (Product of the Year - Vehicle/Trailer Mounted)

A winner in a strong field, CTE was described by the judges as creating a genuinely unique product. "It stands out in a highly competitive market, by combining the characteristics of a simple telescopic boom platform with that of an up-and-over machine."

Alimak Hek: Alimak Scando 650 (Product of the Year - Mast Climbing Work Platform/Hoists)

The judges said that the winning product was "an engineering triumph - and definitely one of the largest masted passenger/goods hoists ever produced. The company used all its expertise to engineer a unique solution to transporting goods and personnel on an inclined building 200 m high."

Custom Equipment: HB-830 (Product of the Year - Low-Level Access)

The judges said, "In a fast-growing sector of the access market we were impressed by this company's approach to developing low-weight scissor lifts. The winner was recognised for its performance in combining capacity, compactness and mobility."

Independent Parts & Service (IPS), UK (Award for Outstanding After Sales Service)

"IPS had an excellent track record already, but still managed to achieve impressive improvements in its 2010 performance with several initiatives that proved beneficial to customers." The judges liked the way the company worked with customers to improve efficiency while at the same time reducing costs.

BS Technology, Singapore (Best Marketing Campaign for IPAF Training)

The judges said: "It is difficult to overestimate the impact on IPAF training that this company has made. It has gained government recognition for IPAF training, helped establish standards in a country where none previously existed, and is serving as a model for the promotion of training."

Gurpartap Singh, Dubai, Rapid/Lavendon Group (IPAF Training Instructor of the Year)

The judges described the winner as a passionate advocate of IPAF training. "His is a great story of personal achievement. He was described by his employer as not just a great trainer, but one of the company's best salesmen."

Piattaforme Aeree Formazione (PAF), Italy (Best New IPAF Training Centre)

The winner was described by the judges as delivering "a remarkable record in what was a very difficult year."