International Awards for Powered Access 2011 in Amsterdam: New Product Categories Added

Entries are now open for the International Awards for Powered Access (IAPAs) 2011, jointly organized by Access International and IPAF.

Entries are now open for the International Awards for Powered Access (IAPAs) 2011, jointly organized by Access International and IPAF. The awards ceremony and dinner will be held on April 14, 2011 at the NH Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. They follow the half-day IPAF Summit which starts at 1:30 p.m. the same day.

The IAPAs are the premier event celebrating best practice and excellence in the powered access industry. This is the third time that the awards are being held and there are now four "Product of the Year" categories, allowing the recognition of innovative products in all sectors of the market.

The categories, open to all companies and individuals in the powered access industry, are:

  • The Access Rental Company of the Year
  • IPAF Safety Champion
  • Contribution to Safe Working at Height
  • Access Project of the Year
  • Product of the Year - Vehicle/trailer-mounted
  • Product of the Year - Self-propelled (booms, scissors, spiders)
  • Product of the Year - Mast climbing work platforms/hoists
  • Product of the Year - Low-level access
  • Award for Outstanding After Sales Service
  • IPAF/Access International Lifetime Achievement Award

There are three categories designed for IPAF member companies and individuals only:

  • Best Marketing Campaign for IPAF Training
  • IPAF Training Instructor of the Year
  • Best New IPAF Training Centre

"The IAPAs Dublin 2009 and London 2010 were extremely successful, with the London event in particular seeing an increase in the quality and international scope of the award entries," said Maria Harding, editor of Access International. "The judges are looking for best practice, excellence, innovation and professionalism. The basic criterion is simple - the judges want all entrants to tell them why they believe their company, project or product is special and why it deserves to win an award in a particular category."

"The competition is tough as nominees are being judged by their peers," said IPAF managing director Tim Whiteman. "We welcome entries from all around the world and we urge everyone in the access business - manufacturers, distributors, rental companies and training organizations - to consider submitting an entry for the 2011 awards."

Companies and individuals can enter themselves or nominate others. They can submit entries for more than one award, and more than one entry per category, if they so wish. There is no charge for entering. Entries must be for work done in 2010. The deadline for entries is Jan. 10, 2011.

The judging panel comprises Roger Bowden, chairman of UK-based manufacturer Niftylift; Mike Watts, president of US-based rental company Sunstate Equipment; Gerhard Hillebrand, industry consultant and IPAF-Italia; Steve Shaughnessy, IPAF president; and Murray Pollok, managing editor of Access International. Entries must be submitted in English using the official entry form available at

Also at this website is more information on sponsorship, dinner bookings and the venue. Those wishing to attend the event should book hotel rooms early to get the best rates. Details at