TCA Elects New Board of Directors

Ed McGuire elected Tilt-Up Concrete Association president.

MT. VERNON, IOWA - The Tilt-Up Concrete Association (TCA) - a non-profit international organization that serves to expand and improve the use of Tilt-Up as the preferred construction method - has announced the election of new board members and the slate of officers for the 2011 year.

Ed McGuire, Vice President of Construction at Bob Moore Construction, Inc. (Arlington, Texas) was elected president of the TCA Board of Directors at its annual meeting on Jan. 20. McGuire is responsible for construction and field operations at his firm. He has been a member of the construction industry for more than 25 years and serves on the American Concrete Institute (ACI) C-650 Tilt-Up Certification and 551 Tilt-Up Construction committees.

Other officers serving the Board are:

  • President-elect Glenn Doncaster of Citadel Contractors, Inc. (Apex, N.C.)
  • Vice President Kimberly Corwin of A.H. Harris & Sons (Newington, Conn.)
  • Secretary David Tomasula, P.E., of CON/STEEL Tilt-Up Systems (Dayton, Ohio)
  • Treasurer Shane Miller of DIVCON, Inc. (Spokane Valley, Wash.)
  • Past-president Jimmie Ballard of CMC Construction Services (Houston, Texas)

Elected to three-year terms to the Board for the first time are:

  • Jeffrey Brown, AIA, of Powers Brown Architecture (Houston, Texas)
  • Andrew S. McPherson of Seretta Construction (Apopka, Fla.; Charlotte, N.C. or Austin, Texas)
  • Shannon D. Stucker of AML, Inc. (Floyds Knobs, Ind.)
  • James Williams, P.E., C.E., S.E., AIA of AE URBIA and J.M. Williams and Associates, Inc. (Salt Lake City, Utah)

Those continuing service on the Board are:

  • Clay Fischer of Woodland Construction Company (Jupiter, Fla.)
  • Barclay Gebel of Concrete Strategies, LLC (St. Louis, Mo.)
  • Tom Stecker of Composite Technologies Corporation (Boone, Iowa)
  • Joe Steinbicker, P.E., of Steinbicker & Associates Inc. (Dayton, Ohio)
  • Mike Wolstenholme of Meadow Burke (Chesterfield, Va.)

Ex-officio members of the Board from related associations are:

  • Lionel Lemay, Director of Applied Engineering for the National Ready Mix Concrete Association
  • Douglas Sordyl, Managing Director for Industry Affairs of the American Concrete Institute
  • Tony Johnson, Regional Manager for the Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute
  • Larry Novak, Director of Engineered Buildings for the Portland Cement Association

In other business, TCA announced recipients of the Peter Courtois Memorial, Robert Aiken Innovation, Murray Parker Memorial, Irving Gill Distinguished Architect and David L. Kelly Engineering awards during the annual business meeting. Detailed information on the award winners and copies of the meeting minutes are available through TCA by calling 319-895-6911 or visiting

Companies in this article