ACPA Announces 2010 Award Winners

The American Concrete Pavement Association announces award winners for its 2010 Excellence in Concrete Pavement, Distinguished Service and Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan awards.

ROSEMONT, IL - The American Concrete Pavement Association (ACPA) announced the recipients of its 21st annual "Excellence in Concrete Pavement" awards, which recognize quality concrete pavements constructed in the United States and Canada.

The awards were presented at the closing banquet ceremony as part of ACPA's 47th Annual Meeting in Bonita Springs, Fla.

The awards program encourages high-quality workmanship in every concrete pavement project and serves as a forum for sharing information about highly successful projects. Projects are evaluated and voted on by judges from across the country and represent various stakeholder groups in the transportation-construction community.

The program recognizes contractors, engineers, and project owners who completed outstanding projects. One of the requirements of the program is that projects must be completed in the calendar year prior to judging, which is why project descriptions show dates of 2009 or earlier.

The awards fall into 12 discrete categories applicable to construction and preservation of highways, roadways, airports, and industrial pavement facilities. One change made to the program this year is the segmentation of the overlay category, with separate awards presented this year to concrete overlays used in highway, airport, and roadway facilities. The new sub-categories reflect the increased use and, of course, the growing popularity of concrete overlays in pavement preservation projects.

The award winners include 22 ACPA contractor members, and were distributed geographically among 12 ACPA-affiliated Chapters and state paving associations. In most, but not all cases, projects previously received awards presented by regional ACPA Chapters and state paving associations.

The ACPA Excellence in Concrete Pavement awards were made possible, in large measure, because of the generous time commitment of independent judges, who review in painstaking detail the project specifics and images supplied by nominees. In all, 30 judges contributed many hours to judging the nominees this year.

ACPA presents awards in both gold and silver levels. Judging is based on a point system, with independent judges awarding points for quality construction, addressing unique and unusual challenges, innovation, traffic management, and other criteria. In the case of ties, award judges present "co-winners."

To view the 21st annual "Excellence in Concrete Pavement" winners visit the ACPA website.

Pat Nolan Named 2010 Recipient of Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan Award
ACPA proudly presented the 2010 Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan Award to Pat Nolan, recently retired from Interstate Highway Construction, Inc., Englewood, Colo.

Presenting the award was Peter Deem, Industry Associations Consultant, HOLCIM (US) Inc.., Louisville, Colo. Deem also serves as Chairman of the ACPA Legislative Issues Task Force and is a Past-Chairman (2006) of the ACPA Board of Directors.

"It is my great pleasure to present the 2010 Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan Award to Pat Nolan, a person I consider to be a great friend, a superb leader, and a mentor to a great many people. For many years, Pat and I served on the ACPA Board of Directors together, as well as in similar roles with the Colorado-Wyoming ACPA Chapter," he said.

" During that time, I saw him tackle issues great and small, always focusing on solutions instead of problems. For ACPA national, Pat was a leader of change, managing the Association through a very challenging and sometimes extraordinarily difficult strategic planning process. He managed that change with intelligence, compassion, and humor, and because of his leadership, the Association is better for it.

"We also are recognizing Pat for his dedication, leadership, creativity, and faith in guiding the American Concrete Pavement Association, as well as for the integrity that defined his career and will remain his legacy. He has made an indelible and incredible impression on many people throughout the industry and the transportation-construction community. "

Nolan is the 42nd recipient of the Hartmann-Hirschman-Egan Award.

Distinguished Service and Recognition Awards
ACPA announces the recipients of its distinguished service and recognition awards. The award program was established in 1968, when the Association's first honoree was James W. Johnson, Iowa Highway Commission Testing Lab, for the invention of the slip form paver.

The awards presented in 2010 include the following:

  • Marlin J. Knutson Award for Technical Achievement - Dale Harrington, P.E., Snyder & Associates, representing the National Concrete Pavement Technology Center
  • Outstanding Pavement Promotion Award - Randell Riley, P.E., Executive Director of the Illinois Chapter-ACPA
  • Lifetime Pavement Recognition Award - Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and Golden Triangle Construction
  • Sustainable Practices Recognition Award -Iowa Department of Natural Resources' Honey Creek Resort. The award was presented to four groups: Wicks Construction, Inc.; Concrete Technologies, Inc.; Jasper Construction: and Ideal Ready Mix Co., Inc.